Pokemon Go Eevee Guide: How To Get Any Eevee Evolution

Since its launch in Summer 2016, Pokemon Go has been gradually introducing more and more Pokemon to collect. Most recently, developer Niantic implemented monsters from the series’ Gen 4 games, Diamond and Pearl, and the studio has begun dropping hints that Gen 5 Pokemon–those that originally debuted in Pokemon Black and White on the DS–are on the horizon as well.

One of the most beloved and unique Pokemon in the series is Eevee. While a fairly common sight in Pokemon Go, what makes Eevee special is that it’s capable of evolving into a variety of different forms. Normally, which Eevee evolution you get is up to luck, but there are a few tricks to ensure you get the evolution of your choice. If you’re hoping for a particular one, read on for tips on how to get any Eevee evolution.

How Many Eevee Evolutions Are There?

Eevee is categorized as the Evolution Pokemon, and fittingly, it can evolve into eight possible forms–more than any other monster in the series. The most recent Eevee evolution, Sylveon, was introduced in Pokemon X and Y for 3DS, and while it is not yet attainable in Pokemon Go, it will inevitably be added to the game at some point in the future. In the meantime, here are all the possible forms Eevee can evolve into in Pokemon Go:

  • Vaporeon — Water-type
  • Jolteon — Electric-type
  • Flareon — Fire-type
  • Espeon — Psychic-type
  • Umbreon — Dark-type
  • Leafeon — Grass-type
  • Glaceon — Ice-type

How To Choose Eevee Evolutions

Eevee requires 25 Eevee Candies to evolve, which is fairly cheap by the game’s standards, so you shouldn’t have much trouble amassing the required amount of Candy to evolve it. Normally, the form it turns into will be determined randomly, but you can influence its evolution by giving it a specific nickname, guaranteeing it will evolve into a certain form. However, this nicknaming trick can only be used once per evolution. Here’s the full list of nicknames and the evolutions they’ll produce:

  • Vaporeon — Rainer
  • Jolteon — Sparky
  • Flareon — Pyro
  • Espeon — Sakura
  • Umbreon — Tamao
  • Leafeon — Linnea
  • Glaceon — Rea

Once you change Eevee’s nickname to one of the aforementioned options, you’ll see the silhouette of the corresponding Pokemon appear on the Evolve button, signaling that you’ve done everything right. As previously mentioned, however, you can only use this trick once for each form; if you’ve already obtained a Jolteon by nicknaming it Sparky, you won’t be able to get another one using the same method, so think carefully before evolving an Eevee.

Other Eevee Evolution Tricks

In addition to the above nicknaming trick, there’s another method to guarantee which form your Eevee will evolve into, specifically if you want Espeon, Umbreon, Leafeon, or Glaceon. However, this will require a little more work.

Espeon / Umbreon

Set Eevee as your Buddy Pokemon, then walk 10 kilometers with it. Once you’ve traveled the required distance together and earned two Candies, evolve Eevee (while it’s still set as your Buddy Pokemon) during the day to get Espeon, or at night (between 8 PM – 8 AM local time) to get Umbreon.

Leafeon / Glaceon

To guarantee Eevee evolves into Leafeon or Glaceon, you’ll need to have either a Mossy Lure or a Glacial Lure–two new types of Lure Modules recently introduced in the game. You can purchase either of these through the in-game item shop for 200 coins.

Once you’ve gotten your hands on a Mossy Lure, set it in a PokeStop, then spin its Photo Disc and evolve Eevee to receive Leafeon. Set a Glacial Lure instead and the Evolution Pokemon will turn into Glaceon. You can read more about the process in our guide on how to get Leafeon and Glaceon in Pokemon Go.

Pokemon Go Guides

GameSpot – Game News

All the latest GameSpot Game and Tech News

Go to Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *